Virtual Womb

Readers, a caution: this poem may or may not be based on real events.

*

I had my first virtual reality experience
I was a baby in the womb
The dark red world was swirling around me
The muffled flow of life droned in my ears
I felt warm and safe, I think,
As if I was being held for the first time and had been forever,
As if nothing could ever go wrong
Every sustaining thing was insulating my body

But the guys at Verizon didn’t appreciate my moaning and screaming
So I was thrown out into the harsh, unforgiving cold

Leave a Reply

